Get a free copy of the Tomb Raider trilogy until January 6.


If you're a PC gamer, you should go to the Epic Games Store today for a chance for free games. Instead of giving users a single title this new year, the store is giving away the whole "Tomb Raider" trilogy — "Tomb Raider" (2013), "Rise of the Tomb Raider" (2015), and "Shadow of The Tomb Raider" (2018).

Tomb Raider is a bold adventure game. You play as Lara Croft to explore the landscape and complete missions. Croft, the protagonist, is one of the most iconic figures in gaming. Since 1996, her games have remained the go-to titles for anyone wanting to experience a truly memorable adventure. The latest installments of the series reboot return to Lara's roots while taking advantage of the newest technology.

It's not clear how much Epic is paying Square Enix to give the Tomb Raider games away, but an Arkham trilogy giveaway in 2019 cost them approximately $1.5 million.

The Tomb Raider trilogy will be available until January 6, 2021, at 11 p.m. Western Indonesian Time.

Getting into Tomb Raider

Tomb Raider cover from Square Enix

The trilogy's first entry, which is still considered one of the best, is a beautiful introduction to the series for new players. It has breathtaking visuals and fast-paced gameplay.

The game starts when Lara Croft is stranded on an island off Japan's coast, she realizes that there are many mysteries hidden beneath it, and the rest is for the players to explore and get Lara out of the island.

"Tomb Raider" still manages to feel very modern in terms of gameplay even though it has some of the same set pieces as the previous Tomb Raider games. It has a reasonably complex RPG system that lets players earn skill points by completing various tasks.

It has been criticized for too many quick-time events and feels like it holds the player's hand too much. Even with the hardest difficulties, it has a lot of hints and doesn't have a way to turn off Survival Instinct.

Despite being overshadowed by its successors, "Tomb Raider" still stands out. It has plenty of recognizable gameplay and features that make it stand out.

Getting into Rise of the Tomb Raider

Rise of the Tomb Raider cover from Square Enix

"Rise of the Tomb Raider" combines the best elements of the previous game with stunning visuals.

The story continues in the "Rise of The Tomb Raider". Lara is still determined to find the key to immortality, and she has to travel to Siberia to do it.

The gameplay is simply stunning. It is enjoyable to play due to the variety of tombs, enemies, and an engaging environment. The guns in this installment are abundant, varied, and fun to use. There are more than enough tools to pull the trigger and plenty of enemies to face.

One of the standouts is the Temple of the Witch, which features a story that involves Lara being exposed to hallucinogenic pollen. On the other hand, the biggest letdown of the game is that it doesn't have enough exciting areas to explore.

Getting into Shadow of The Tomb Raider

Shadow of the Tomb Raider cover from Square Enix

The game is set in South America, and it features some of the most beautiful landscapes in the entire trilogy. And like traditional open-world games, the open-world areas are populated by various villagers.

In "Shadow of the Tomb Raider", Lara must learn how to handle the more questionable parts of her raiding to prevent a deadly apocalypse.

The most refined version of the series, "Shadow of the Tomb Raider", features a stealth system among the most improved parts of the game. Lara can also hide in mud and evade detection.

The series' finale makes a lot of sense, but it also has some issues that are still not ideal. For instance, the difficulty system is still too complicated for most players in the way that the difficulties for combat, puzzles, and exploration are separate and might need some tweaking if you're new. 

#THE S MEDIA #Media Milenial